Known Knowns and Unknown Knowns.(Autism)

I’m not proud of sharing this sort of wordage as it’s pretty dumb, but it might explain how I can get.

Donald Rumsfeld said this in a 2012 press briefing:-

Reports that say that something hasn’t happened are always interesting to me, because as we know, there are known knowns; there are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns – the ones we don’t know we don’t know. And if one looks throughout the history of our country and other free countries, it is the latter category that tend to be the difficult ones.[1]

Yeah. But that covers anxiety for me.

The Known stuff that I can handle, the Unknown that can upset me.

I think there’s an element of both in everything I face.

I was better at it maybe before. Taking the Knowns and not being scared of the Unknown. Maybe having a better perspective and maybe having the ability to rise above and over. 

But, for now. Filtering out the Unknown stuff, keeping a routine, staying familiar and on line. 

Difficult? I think so. Necessary? 

Is that mindful?  Is it psychology? 

If it works and reduces stress and anxiety then that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

