Oh Saga.

I’ve loved the third series of The Bridge.

I thought I’d struggle with over analysing Saga. I haven’t. I get that people with Aspergers are different and that her past is centred around the loss of her sister and the lack of trust she has in anyone.

I understand the role as a window into her that Henrik played in this series and that Martin did in the previous one.

I think it’s possible to ‘turn off’ personality as Saga did, but holding down a job means interaction with people and although Hans understood her, it’s clear that others did not and there are consequences.

The learnt behaviours to ‘fake’ conversations aren’t easy, but possible and I think anyone that has to function with people finds a way. 

It’s not necessarily easy or meaningful, but that sort of level of conversation is possible, but I guess that doesn’t work as well in drama and it’s a difficult thing to illustrate a person having limited social abilities and showing the point where those abilities fail.

Saga kept her issues away from her job, compartmentalised her life and could focus on her work. She kept the needs separate and focuses on reading psychology and trying to understand people by reading and learning about them. 

Maybe she could mimic and didn’t want to anymore. Maybe she got to her role in the police and decided just to be who she was rather than trying to mask being different.

I think I’m undecided on whether to say Saga does or doesn’t represent Aspergers or Autism. I think there are traits, the social communication stuff is obvious. But, she’s human and lives and makes mistakes rather than being some robotic being.

The relationship with her mother is really showing an aspect of difficulty for many people. A black/white look at life, the difficulty in reconciling even at a time where her father had died.

Was that another mistake in judgement as I’m guessing her mother wouldn’t have went to the lengths that she did, but Saga felt manipulated by her, she backed away knowing that there wasn’t a solution and that the information her mother came to her with about her sisters death didn’t seem right. 

Again, it’s a literal view, a fixed viewpoint where she knows she’s right and for anything other to be the case is devastating. 

Maybe reality and shades of grey come in here, we can interpret Saga’s viewpoint or accept that maybe things weren’t as stark as she saw it. 

I suppose it’s easier to analyse others beliefs and motives than it is to question your own and it’s very hard to step away from your facts to see a broader picture.

Anyway. I throughly enjoyed ‘The Bridge III’ and as you can tell, I have some thinking to do too. 

Leave a Reply

